RSS Feed

Cemetery of Forgotten Books

Posted on

I Just love this..

“This place is a mystery. A sanctuary. Every book, every volume you see, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and the soul of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it. Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens. In this place, books no longer remembered by anyone, books that are lost in time, live forever, waiting for the day when they will reach a new reader’s hands, a new spirit…”

Quote from The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, translated by Lucia Graves

Sublime!

Love both this book and “Shadow of the Wind” , gothic in nature and set in Barcelona they introduced me to the magical idea of the Cemetery of Lost Books.  The author has written a sequel to  Shadow  “The Prisoner of Heaven”  and I am eagerly waiting to return to the world of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books and the Sempere & Sons bookshop. It begins just before Christmas in Barcelona in 1957, one year after Daniel and Bea from The Shadow of the Wind have married.

I have also just found a  preview of his next young adult novel  –  and it sounds just as entrancing,  but now I have to wait until to possibly next year to read two new books from one of my favorite authors. I  almost wish I hadn’t found out, guess I need to add both to my ever-expanding ‘wish’ list.

The Watcher in the Shadows

Copyright Weidenfield & Nicolson; 1st edition (1 May 2013)

 “A mysterious toymaker who lives as a recluse in an old mansion, surrounded by the magical beings he has created … a sickly wife locked away in a hidden roomm…an enigma surrounding strange lights that shine through the mists that envelop the small island on which the old lighthouse stands…a shadowy creature that hides deep in the woods…”
 
Its possible I may have to find a second source of income as I’m pretty sure my books to buy list is becoming a novella.
About aalid

Book loving, craft obsessed, retro, library working, slightly geeky female. Probably old enough to know better but refusing to learn, persistantly looking for the aesthetically pleasing in life to cheer up my apparently miserable face! The Mage and Raven is my bookshop - it doesnt exist - except for inside my brain.

2 responses »

  1. His other books are great. Looking forward to his next installment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

